Playlist are the most popular way to organize your songs and prepare gigs. In the playlist tab you can manage your playlists and edit the contents of a playlist.
When you have selected a song in a playlist, multiple taps on the Playlist tab will alternate between the playlists overview and the currently selected playlist.
Playlists are displayed in alphabetical order by default. The sort order can be changed by tapping on Sort by. If you tap on a playlist you can edit the contents of the playlist. See Edit a Playlist.
The list can be filtered by keywords. You can show only playlists with certain keywords, playlists without certain keywords and a combination of both. To assign keywords to a playlist, see Edit keywords further below.
If the currently loaded song has been loaded from within a playlist, that playlist will be marked with a blue background to indicate that this is the currently active playlist.
Create new playlist
Tap on in the navigation bar and enter a name for your playlist.
Delete a playlist
To delete a playlist, swipe it to the left and tap on the trashcan icon:
On macOS you can also right click on a playlist to open a context menu and select Delete.
The actions menu
You can rename or copy a playlist from the actions menu. To open the menu, swipe a playlist to the left and tap on the ... icon:
Now you can choose to rename or duplicate a playlist.
On macOS these actions are also available by right clicking on an entry to open a context menu.
Edit a playlist
Tapping on a playlist will open the playlist details view:
In this view you can see all songs that have been added to this playlist. You can add new songs to the playlist, reorder them, delete them and define whether playback should continue after a song.
It is also possible to edit playlist specific details like keywords, playlist colors and the playlist volume.
Songs in a playlist can be displayed as a numbered list if you enable the option Show Song Numbers.
Add songs to playlist
Tap on in the toolbar to open a view with all songs available in Stage Traxx. Please see Adding song on how to add new songs to Stage Traxx. Select all songs you want to add to the playlist. Selected songs will be marked with a checkmark. You can remove the checkmark by tapping on a song. The order in which you select songs is remembered and will be used to add them to the playlist. The window title will display the number and the accumulated duration of all selected songs.
Songs that are already part of the current playlist are greyed out. This is only a visual indicator. You can still add the same song multiple times to a playlist.
You have the same filter and sorting options in this view as in the regular song list.
When you have selected all songs you want to add to the playlist, tap on Done.
Remove songs from playlist
Swipe a song to the left and tap on the trashcan icon. On macOS you can also right click on a song and select Delete in the context menu.
Reordering the playlist
You can reorder the songs in a playlist by either using drag & drop or by tapping on in the toolbar and selecting the sort option you would like to use: A to Z, Z to A or shuffle.
To use drag & drop, touch a song until it you see a small zoom effect, then drag it to the target position a release it:
Each playlist can have its own overall volume. This allows you to create for example background music playlists.
To set the playlist volume, tap on the icon.
It is important to understand how this volume is applied during playback. If you have Advanced Queue Mode disabled and select a song in a playlist, then the playlist volume is applied during playback. If you play a song from the history tab or the songs tab, no playlist volume is applied for the playback.
If Advanced Queue Mode is enabled, then the queue volume is set to the playlist volume only when you replace the queue with the playlist by pressing the icon in the manage playlist screen. If you add a playlist to the queue without replacing existing songs or add a single song from a playlist to the queue, the playlist volume is not applied!
You can select a color for the playlist by tapping on the button.
To assign keywords to the current playlist tap on the icon. This will open the keywords editor described in the Edit Song Details section.
Autoplay & repeat
Autoplay means that playback is not stopped after a song has finished playing. It will continue with the next song. Repeat will instead restart playback of the current song from the beginning.
You can enable autoplay on playlist level or on song level. Repeat can only be enabled on song level.
If you want to automatically play a whole playlist (for example for break music), use the Autoplay switch in the table header:
All songs in the playlist will show a grey arrow on the right hand side to indicate that they will continue playback with the next song:
If the last song in a playlist has Autoplay enabled the playlist will continue playing from the beginning after the last song is finished.
If you only want to enable Autoplay for some songs in the playlist, you can swipe the song to the left and select the Autoplay button or use the right click context menu on macOS:
The autoplay indicator on the right hand side will be displayed the tint color you selected in color settings.
The same steps can be used to disable autoplay for a song.
Repeat can be enabled the same way. Swipe to the left and select Repeat. Repeat has always higher priority than Autoplay. So if both are enabled, the song will repeat itself until you disable Repeat.
If you have enabled crossfades in the settings then songs will be crossfaded when Autoplay is enabled. Songs will never crossfade on repeat.
Edit song details
If playback is stopped, you can tap on to open the Edit Song Screen.
To edit songs in the full screen player you need to enable the option Allow Song Editing.
Sharing a playlist
You can share playlists by tapping on in the toolbar. This will open a menu where you can choose one of the following options:
- Plain Text: A plain text file with the setlist is created. You can save this file, send it via email or open it in another app.
- Playlist File: This option will create a data file that can be sent via Airdrop or any other form of file transfer to another iPad. Opening this file will try to recreate the playlist on another device. Please note, that this file does not contain audio files. So the receiving device needs to have all songs within the playlist already imported in Stage Traxx. Song matching is done by title and artist info.
- Playlist with Songs: Similar to the last option but this file will also contain all audio and pdf files and song settings for all songs in the playlist.